5 thoughts on “in answer to your questions

  1. Pingback: Does size matter? | As Easy As Riding A Bike

  2. Tim

    Mildly surprised to see car passenger holds its own against driver as well as it does.

    Car use for journeys 2-5 is the tragedy. Be interesting to see that interval as proportion of total journeys too to combine the two. (yes I realise you’re probably getting bored of this :) )

    Reply
  3. Joe Dunckley Post author

    hmm? The first of the 3 charts already tells you the proportions of the different distance intervals. Unless you mean you want one with modes on the x and distance on the y? I’m sure somebody must have already done such a thing — it’s from the National Travel Survey and I only bothered to do charts for things that weren’t already in the reports

    Reply
    1. Tim

      Sorry, I think I was getting confused by some slight mislabelling – the bars on the first chart are surely 0-1, 1-2, etc, rather than 100″. Otherwise the sections would have to get progressively bigger going up the chart (vertically) and that would be rather unhelpful. I realise that sounds pedantic but it led me to assume (incorrectly) that chart one had the same problem chart two does (which temporarily confused @katsdecker and which is addressed by chart three).

      So now I can see that ~20% of GB journeys were between 1-2 miles, and 36.84% of those were by someone driving, so the product, ~7.4% of all journeys consisted of people driving between one and two miles (for example). And I find that breakdown vaguely interesting. Almost 4% of journeys are people driving plus passengering less than a mile.

      Am I making sense? I’ll take a look at the survey too. Thanks.

      Reply
      1. Tim

        Dammit. Now wordpress mistook my lessthan and morethan for a tag and removed some text:

        Sorry, I think I was getting confused by some slight mislabelling – the bars on the first chart are surely 0-1, 1-2, etc, rather than “lessthan 2” and so on. And “All” should be “greaterthan 100”.

Leave a comment